top of page
Artboard 1_4x_edited_edited.png


The Award was established in 1970 by the Rotary Club of Houston in memory of Vince Lombardi to honor the top Division IA college football lineman.


The Lombardi family granted permission to the Rotary Club of Houston to use the Lombardi name for the Award, stipulating that all net proceeds from the award benefit cancer research.

Since its inception, millions of dollars have been raised to support cancer research.

The Lombardi Award™ trophy, made from 40 lbs. of Texas pink granite chiseled to resemble the stance of a lineman, is presented annually in Houston at a gala dinner where the four finalists are honored.

This Houston tradition is now in its 50th year.

A significant part of the annual event is the visits made by the four Lombardi Award™ finalists to see the Front-Line Kids at Local Hospitals.

The Front-Line Kids are children with cancer who attend the dinner and otherBLombardi Award™ events as our special guests.

Thirteen previous winners and finalists are members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Forty-three previous winners and finalists are the College Football Hall of Fame members.

73 RLA winners and finalists have been chosen in the first round of the NFL draft - eight were number-one picks.

Winners and finalists have represented 48 Division IA colleges.

Defensive ends have won the most RLA trophies.

Orlando Pace is the only multiple winner of the RLA award, winning in 1995 and 1996.

Eight nominees/winners were two-time finalists.

Ten winners and 21 finalists were members of the NFL roster in 2022.

bottom of page