FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Contact: Deborah Elias, Media Relations <u>rla@rotarylombardiaward.org</u> or 713.334.1800 www.rotarylombardiaward.org

2021 Rotary Lombardi Award® Twelve Semi-Finalists Revealed

Houston, TX - The **Rotary Lombardi Award**® in conjunction with the Rotary Club of Houston is pleased to announce the Twelve Semi-Finalists who will compete for this year's coveted award.

The Rotary Lombardi Award® goes annually to the college football offensive or defensive lineman, who in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the character and discipline of NFL Hall of Fame Head Coach Vince Lombardi.

The notable Twelve Semi-Finalists are as follows.

First	Last	Position	School	Player Highlights
Will	Anderson	OLB	Alabama	SEC All Freshman Team, 2nd Team all SEC (AP)
James	Empey	С	BYU	2021 Pre-season All-American selection by Phil Steele, Team Captain
Kenyon	Green	OL	Texas A&M	FWAA All America 1st Team, AP All America and SEC 2 nd Team
Christian	Harris	MLB	Alabama	Semifinalist for Butkus award, 79 stops, 7 for losses and 4.5 sacks
Aidan	Hutchinson	DE	Michigan	2019 All-Big Ten Honoree, Team Captain, Semifinalist William V. Campbell
Jermaine	Johnson	DE	Florida State	16 tackles, 5.0 sacks, 11 QB hurries in 7 games in 2020 season
Darian	Kinnard	ОТ	Kentucky	Third Team All-American (AP), Pre-season First Team All-American (Athlon)
Tyler	Linderbaum	С	Iowa	Pre-season 1 st Team All-American by Phil Steele, 1 st Team All-Big Ten
Thayer	Munford	OL	Ohio State	2020 First Team All-Big Ten, 2021 Preseason First Team All-American
PJ	Mustipher	DT	Penn State	All-Big Ten Honorable Mention, 10 career starts at DT
Evan	Neal	OL	Alabama	Blocked for the Power 5's #1 Scoring Offense (48.5 PPG)
Mike	Rose	LB	Iowa State	Big 12 DPOY, 1st Team All-American (Steele, the Athletic)

To be considered for the Rotary Lombardi Award®, players must be a NCAA FBS College Football team member and meet the following qualifications:

To be considered for the Rotary Lombardi Award®, players must be a NCAA FBS College Football team member and meet the following qualifications:

- Be a down Lineman, end to end, either on offense or defense, setting up no further than ten (10) yards to the left or right of the ball at the time of the snap.
- Be a Linebacker on defense, setting up no further than five (5) yards deep from the line of scrimmage.
- Must <u>not</u> come out of the offensive backfield and set up on the line of scrimmage as a Blocker or a Receiver or listed in the program as an Offensive Back or Receiver.
- Be eligible to participate in the current season.

The second round of voting to reveal the final four finalists will commence on Oct 15th and the nominees will be revealed on November 9th at a special press conference in Houston, Texas at 10:00am CST.

Honorary Chair and Famed Green Bay Packer Jerry Kramer, 1987 Winner Chris Spielman, the Four nominees, and their Coaches will attend the award ceremony on December 8th event in Houston Texas.

The winner will add their name to a notable list of past winners such as Ndamukong Suh, Aaron Taylor, Julius Peppers, Terrell Suggs, Aaron Donald, and two-time winner Orlando Pace.

Just weeks after Coach Vince Lombardi's 1970 death from colon cancer, the <u>Rotary Club of Houston</u> was authorized by Lombardi's widow, Marie, to establish the Rotary Lombardi Award®. As stipulated by Mrs. Lombardi, net proceeds from the Award's activities are contributed to Cancer Research and specifically the <u>American Cancer Society's</u> programs.

For additional information, visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org.

Please use the following social media handles.

Twitter @rotarylombardi

Instagram @offrotarylombardiaward Facebook @rotarylombardiaward

###