

April 13, 2021 **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Contact: Deborah Elias, Media Relations rla@rotarylombardiaward.org or 713.334.1800 www.rotarylombardiaward.org

ROTARY LOMBARDI AWARD

Past Winners Jim Stillwagon Walt Patulski Rich Glover John Hicks Randy White Lee Roy Selmon Wilson Whitley Ross Browner Bruce Clark Brad Budde Hugh Green Kenneth Sims Dave Rimington Dean Steinkuhler Tony Degrate Tony Casillas Cornelius Bennett Chris Spielman Tracy Rocker Percy Snow Chris Zorich Steve Emtman Marvin Jones Aaron Taylor Warren Sapp Orlando Pace (2) **Grant Wistrom** Dat Nguyen Corey Moore Jamal Reynolds Julius Peppers Terrell Suggs Tommie Harris David Pollack A. J. Hawk LaMarr Woodley Glenn Dorsey Brian Orakpo Ndamukong Suh Nick Fairley Luke Kuechly Manti Te'o Aaron Donald Scooby Wright III Carl Nassib

Jonathan Allen

Houston, Texas – The Rotary Club of Houston, General Chair, A. David Schwarz, III and the Planning Committee for the 48th Annual Rotary Lombardi Award announce a December 8, 2021 date, a revision of the selection process, and a steadfast commitment to raise funds for the American Cancer Society: thereby preserving the award's integrity.

After a brief hiatus, the Rotary Lombardi Award will be re-established as one of the premier awards in college football. The Rotary Lombardi Award will continue to be given annually to an Outstanding College Lineman. To be considered for the Rotary Lombardi Award, players must be a NCAA FBS College Football team member and meet the following qualifications:

- Be a down Lineman, end to end, either on offense or defense, setting up no further than ten (10) yards to the left or right of the ball at the time of the snap.
- Be a Linebacker on defense, setting up no further than five (5) yards deep from the line of scrimmage.
- Must <u>not</u> come out of the offensive backfield and set up on the line of scrimmage as a Blocker or a Receiver or listed in the program as an Offensive Back or Receiver.
- Be eligible to participate in the current season.
- Best exemplify the courage, desire, and respect for authority that defined Vincent Lombardi's exceptional brand of DISCIPLINE.

With the spring release of a preliminary watch list, the three-tier voting process will include a blank ballot to establish the Top 12, leading to Four Nominees and ultimately the winner who will be announced in Houston, Texas at the Hilton Americas-Houston on Dec 8th. Voters are comprised of past winners and nominees, college football coaches and more than 300 members of the sports media. The physical award remains a striking block of pink granite representing the imposing Lineman stance.

"I am a proud winner of the Rotary Lombardi Award and honored to be part of such a distinguished fraternity of college Linemen who all came through Houston as finalists. I am excited to know that the award's focus is returning to its original mission of honoring the top Lineman or Linebacker in college football, while raising funds for the fight against cancer, and I can't wait to welcome the next group of finalists to our brotherhood," Aaron Taylor, 1993 Rotary Lombardi Award Winner and 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee.

Just weeks after Coach Vince Lombardi's death in 1970 from colon cancer, the Rotary Club of Houston was authorized by Vince Lombardi's widow, Marie, to establish the Rotary Lombardi Award. As stipulated by Mrs. Lombardi, net proceeds from the Award activities are contributed to Cancer Research and specifically the American Cancer Society's programs.

For more information, visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org